New to Sound Decoders Class 67

SFB

Hi everyone, I am very new to DCC trains and was lucky enough to be bought the R3399 EWS Freight Tain pack which is DCC ready. I also have another TTS loco and wanted to upgrade the EWS to full sound. I have got the new Hornby Clss 67 decoder but am a little scared at installing it as Hornby mentioned I need to do a modification? I honestly thought you just plugged it in to the loco but it seems its more involved. I can not find anywhere how do do this or where to fit the speaker. Please help!

Do the instructions say what the modification is, that you need to do?

I can't see it being anything drastic - most probably removing the round speaker, and fitting a 'sugar-cube' one, so it will fit in the space under the dummy vent fans. (You will need to solder the connections).

The decoder itself literally just plugs in, after you have removed the blanking plug that allows the loco to run on dc volts. Make sure you plug it in the right way around! You won't harm anything if you get it backwards, it just won't work in the way you expect.

Eric - the instructions are so generic they have to cover every loc not just the 67 so very little help.

SFB - Look on RM Web DCC Sound forum at Richard Crofts sound fitting page where he covers the Class 67 conversion.

The problem is you would normally have to desolder the speaker wires, feed them down past the chassis gubbins to the fuel tank area which is the logical place for the speaker, then resolder the feeds to the speaker. Not the easiest of conversions it seems, but Richard finds space topside for his speaker.

/media/tinymce_upload/56f908d6822fb44410de860e7385d696.jpg

Keep an eye on the forum in near future for a sticky giving more info about installing TTS retro-kits.

Rob