R1125 Somerset Belle train set - doesn't run

Andrejs

Hi guys,

I bought this awesome set (see topic) for my son's birthday, and we were all excited until loco simply stopped running. All looks fine, controller does work, although I haven't done any additional checks like voltage measurement, etc. So far my intuition tells me loco's motor is simply dead.

How can I confirm that? What are initial troubleshooting steps? What actions do I need to perform isolate the issue?

If it does matter, I'm an engineer, and do have all the required tools at home.

Best regards,
Andrejs.

Basic fault finding Andrejs.

Start at the wall and work toward the loco, checking for voltage remebering the output from thencontrl is pseudo AC and should read about 15vAC on your meter.

If the wall power supply unit is good and the controller has an output, check the wire link to the track, then check the track.

After that it has to be the loco. The loco can be a bunch of things, pickupsmon the wheels, duff decoder, motor gone,  so check back after the initial checks are done for more info  on these.

Rob

The Hornby R1125 Set contains a Select DCC controller. This controller is basic. It doesn't support performing a 'factory reset' of the decoder in the loco. So if the loco decoder is corrupted, and won't respond to being re-addressed again (see further below) then you are 'up the creek without a paddle'.

Firstly, when it was working, were you using the default DCC 003 address or something different to 003?

With DCC, loco decoders can be prone to loosing their configuration when a transient short circuit occurs on the track. Did you have any short circuits just prior to this issue?