Electrofrog point error

Rich53

Hi,

recently one of my points has a problem. Every time a loco lands on point there's a short , error appears on Elite Controller. Disconnect power and turn Elite on again.

im using DCC cobalt ip digital point motor, and the motor does work on moving direction.

the points has isolation joiners, checked wiring,taken wires off motor and reinstalled wires again.

using meter to check power it's the frog that's not live.

any ideas folks, don't want to remove point, as it's all ballasted.

Richard from Western Australia.

Richard

No need to turn off the power and restart the Elite, just hit ESC after you have removed the shorting loco.

I have no experience of either electrofrogs or Cobalts so I can’t help there unfortunately, but we have knowledgeable folk in those areas who will comment soon.

Rob

I've not used either, either! BUT check very carefully that there isn't a whisker of wire or metal debris bridging one of the insulated joiners or between the moving blades and fixed tracks of the point.

If you have a multimeter, try to identify the exact place that is shorting - and shouldn't be.

Is it just one loco that triggers the overload, or any and all of your fleet. If it is just one loco, check the wheel back-to-backs, in case one has slipped.

Two assumptions as you haven't made these clear in your post.

Assumption 1 that you are using the Cobalt inbuilt contacts to switch the power to the Electrofrog - please confirm.

Assumption 2 that this point was working absolutely fine until recently and not a new installation - please confirm.

Tests for you to perform that will narrow down what is wrong.

Test 1 - run the affected loco that generates the short through the point via BOTH routes through the point. Does the short still occur through BOTH paths or only one of them. If so, which one - please confirm.