Reverse Loop Module

Flinny

Hi,

I can see that this subject has been touched on before but I am new to dcc and can not get mine to work without cutting out. The train passes over the first set of isolating connectors but stops at the second giving an overload on the controller which can be immediately reset.

This happens both clockwise and anti clockwise.

I have tried many combinations of wiring and even bought another RLM.

Does the point need to have spring the clips fitted?

Please help or I will have to take up bowling

How long is your protected track section?

How long is your longest train?

The train (loco including all attached rolling stock with metal wheels) must be allowed to fully enter the protected track section to clear the first set of isolating connectors BEFORE it tries to traverse the exit isolating connectors. Your issue description fits in with the RLM protected section being too short.

If the protected track is LONGER than your trains, then you will need to post some drawings showing your layout design (so that a more effective evaluation of your issue can be assessed) that includes:

where the Insulating Rail Joiners are located?

where the RLM connections are made?

where the main DCC power connection is made?

where is the point you have mentioned relative to the RLM protected section?

Note: To post images, use the Black & White hill & moon icon between the tree and the smiley icons in the reply text tool box. Images will be held back for Admin approval during normal UK office weekday hours and won't appear straight away.

EDIT: Please also answer these additional questions:

Is the RLM the Hornby R8238, if not what brand & model is it?

If it is the R8238, what switch position are you using 'Select or Elite'?

What power supply current rating does your layout use, the 1 Amp or 4 Amp supply?

Thank you for the drawing I requested.