My RAF MT Fleet

I beg indulgence from Admin and the Mods. I have been asked if I might share my 1/72 and 1/76 vehicle collection that I've been building up for a few years. Please feel free to delete this post if it pushes the envelope too far. 

As a sideline to my overall 1940 obsession, I have always wanted to try and provide accurate and suitable vehicles that might serve for potential dioramas and photographic set dressing. I've already shown a few that have been built from Airfix kits and parts, but there are several that inevitably have come from third party kit makers. It's quite interesting how hard it can be to find suitable vehicles for the early war period, and I have to admit to becoming not a bit obsessed about sourcing things that are just right.

/media/tinymce_upload/a7ac29380443611c3cbfd86612e56226.jpg

I'll start with the general service vehicles. These were used for all kinds of things on a typical airfield. Moving a squadron around the country involved quite a collection of road vehicles, leave alone moving men and equipment about on an active airfield. Two Airfix kits are here: the Bedford MW and Standard Tilly. The latter I've painted in the pre-War RAF blue grey, and added a scratch-built tilt frame from brass wire. The Austin Forlite saloon is an Ace kit, intended as a military staff car but I painted it as a civilian version that belongs to one of the air crew. At the back are some resin and cast metal kits of Austin K3 3-tonners, which were used by most branches of the military with all kinds of bodies.

/media/tinymce_upload/95c74ee3fb5b0644238a28a5f87a995b.jpg