How to operate TTS sound?

TeejayTj

Hi there.

I am a very new beginner to model railroading, and I would like a slowly , detailed response please.

I recently received the BR A3 Class Flying Scotsman Era 11 with TTS sound for my birthday, I was very excited. I also got gifted with everything I needed to get it up and running. But while It was running around my layout, I noticed the engine was dead silent, I looked on the box, and it said "TTS SOUND FITTED". I was confused, because there was clearly no sound.

I searched it up, and I found out about how you need to have "DCC controllers" and all that stuff. The engine is DCC fitted. Do you need this 'controller' to be able to use the sounds? And If i do, how do I program the engine, and how can I use every seperate sound? 

I hope this makes sense.

Welcme TJ

TTS sound decoders will control a loco speed and direction on DC circuits but there will be no sound. This is stated in the TTS manual that comes with your loco.

To operate the sounds you need a DCC controller such as the Select, Elite or eLInk/Railmaster combo. Read about them on the Hotnby main site. These sounds are operated using Function buttons on the DCC controller. These function numbers are also  listed in the manual.

A word of warning though once you convert your circuit to run on DCC then you should not run DC locos on that track Or you are in danger of burning the motors out. It is OK to run DCC locos on DC but as stated you will not get any sounds.

Rob

Hi there.

I am a very new beginner to model railroading, and I would like a slowly, detailed response please.

If you convert your layout from DC to DCC. It is a bit more complicated than JUST changing the controller and installing DCC decoders into your existing DC Analogue locomotives. The track will ALSO need to be modified for DCC working and any existing DC Analogue power track / clips either modified for DCC or replaced with a DCC compatible version.