TTS sound

Greybloke

My fudge method of diesel loco selection if you can’t get the exact one is to see what engine is in yours and what engine is in the current TTS offerings (Google and Wiki are your friends here) The only other thing important to my basic mind is do the horns match reasonably well, all the other details like whirry and clonky things are not on my radar.

Rob

I fit sound for a living and I wouldnt say either are particularly close. Here is a Western I did 

Here's a TTS 37 

I guess it's not a million miles off. I think Hornby will probably do another batch of class 37 decoders soon. They are out of stock at most suppliers but havent been discontinued as far as I know.

The class 40 has a very distinctive whistling sound from it's turbo's which you dont want in a Western. 

Richard

All OO sound is awful whether TTS or Legobucketbloke, makes no difference. 

walkingthedog - I have toagree with you on this one. To be honest once I have a Western running round my layout with 20 china clay hoods behind it I can't hear the loco sound over the noise of the wagon wheels so it make it all pointless really.  I do enjoy dcc sound though when shunting and initilly accelarating it also makes the drining experience more realistic as it incorporates delays and actions relative to the sound which no one replicates on non sound decoders. hen the sound is turned off the chips act like standard chips without the aforemention delays etc.