TTS decoder in different Loco

Kev C

Hi - I am new to DCC and Hornby TTS Decoders . If I put say a Class 66 decoder into a Class 59 . Apart from the sounds not being true to the Loco Class will it still work ok and is this the same for steam locos ?

It will sound a bit odd if you put a diesel decoder into a steam loco, though!  😛

I suppose you could tell anyone who comments that it's oil-fired, not a coal burner!

To be fair a lot of mine are just mounted in a representative platform for testing. I could get away with any appropriate class chassis with a cardboard box on top.

I would not recommend fitting a Hornby TTS decoder into Bachmann, Heljan or Vitrains locos.  In simple language the TTS range of decoders does not provide enough power (amps) for many of the motors used in other manufacturers products.  The decoder will 'burn out'.  You tube has videos of peoples bad experiences in using the TTS decoder in Bachmann, Heljan and Vitrains locos. Not seen anything about Dapol.  But that does not mean there is not a problem.  It gets technical in deciding which other manufactures products you can safely use the TTS decoders in.  Perhaps the moderator can elaborate further.   

If in doubt about a particular model then carry out a simple DC stall current check of the motor and compare with the TTS or your particular spec. Same principle if you change the speaker or install lights - stay within spec. Never stall check a model with a decoder installed, always unplug it.

As an analogy you would not carry more people in your car than it was designed for nor would you tow a trailer heavier than the manufacturers posted limit, so why do folk complain when they overload a decoder and it fails.

Oh - and don’t believe all you see on blather tube. The duff posters are usually easy to spot but you have no way of checking if they know what they are talking about other than your own prior knowledge, in which case you probably don’t need their input anyhow.