R751 Class 37 - help choosing.

Hi all, this is my first post so hello and how you going?

I have recently entered the world of Hornby when I got my son the "Night Mail' train set.

This has proved to be a great introduction and have added some track exansions packs and a number of second hand carriages and vans.

He is now sold on the look of the R751 Class 37 and we are looking for a good example.

The below post has been very helpful in understanding the changes.

https://www.hornby.com/uk-en/forum/tri-ang-or-hornby-r751-help-30807/

I am now in a position of choosing between a model with a 6 wheel powered bogie (No. 37130 I think); or a 4 wheel powered bogie (an earlier model posibly).

I am not experienced or knowledgable yet to understand what a ringfield motor is compared to x941 motor.

I guess my question is- which model is a better purchase if both are in okay working order?  Are the earlier models more powerful?

Sorry for the questions, hope you can assist.  I looked at the above post, sheet 94a and sheet 105 before posting.

Cheers

jamie

Two things come to mind Jamie.

1. your controller may not enough power to drive the 751

2 .the wheel profile could be different to today's locos and track.

Googling the different type of motors will give you a visual heads up on the motors .I do know the R751 is a power hungry model .

If one of the class 37 locos has running number 37130, it should have an X941 ringfield motor bogie (service sheet 92A) which for a newcomer to the hobby is a far better proposition than earlier versions of that class of loco which had power-hungry motors, at least one of which also carries catalogue number R751 (running number D6830) as Hornby had a frustrating habit of reusing catalogue numbers for different models.

Having said that, there are many reports that current Hornby controllers are rather 'gutless' and you may find a ringfield motor causes it to cut out.  

Hello Jamie