Dcc switches & points

Dale Oz

Hi all

wondering if I could get some advice

8 years ago I bought a Hornby starter set Somerset belle. I have been only recently set it up in my garage. I have gone to fit 2  turnout (peco) with Hornby levers and (peco point switches. I finally go everything wired which I found hard as it im no electrician just a train lover!

the  issue is when I switch the lever and the train is on the track the train cuts out and the numbers on the DCC SELECT controller go out then comes back on.

looks like I have feedback or short somewhere any ideas?

living in regional Australia I'm 200km from any hobby shops 

Hi

We need to be 100% sure on how you have connected the point motor to the Select?  

You can, for lever operation only, use the Select's 15volt DC auxiliary output. (But it comes with a warning see below)

You cannot operate a solenoid point motor directly from the Select's DCC power. For this you must use an accessory decoder as the interface between the DCC system and the point motor. 

Assuming you have used the Select's 15 volt DC Aux output it reads as though the systems power supply is shutting down when the point lever is moved over. This is an indication that the Select is being feed from the 1.0 Amp power supply and this cannot handle the Select DCC power requirements and the added load of the point motor. 

What can you do about this?  A) Replace the Select 1.0Amp power supply with the 4.0Amp version. But best of all is... B) Do not use the Select to feed the point motors, use instead a totally separate power supply such as a 19 volt DC power supply as sold for powering laptop computers or use a dedicated separate 16volt AC power supply from say an old DC train controllers Auxiliary output.