Installing R8249 Decoder in 0-4-0 Loco

Pedro48

Hi

I am new to model railway and have set up Railmaster on my track and it is working well.

I recently tried to install a R8249 decoder in a 0-4-0 loco foloowing instructions on the standard 0-4-0 installation. However Raimaster does not see the decoder and I get CV values of 255. I unsoldered all connections and the motor works fine on a 9volt battery, but when I connect the decoder the motor does not operate even when connected directly to 9volt battery.

Could I have killed the decoder during installation?

All CV values reading 255 means that RailMaster cannot detect the decoder as being present. I take it that you are putting the loco on a separate programming track piece directly connected to the PROG A&B output of your RailMaster track interface. If you are, then can you read CVs on another different loco to prove that is working. If that proves OK, then inspect your decoder installation preferably with a digital multimeter set to measure resistance and look for either a short circuit across the wheels or an open circuit between the wheels and the red / black wires on the decoder.

TIP: As a newbie poster on the forum, just be aware that the 'Blue Button with the White Arrow' is not a 'Reply to this post' button. If you want to reply to any of the posts, scroll down and write your reply in the reply text box at the bottom of the page and click the Green 'Reply' button.

See also – further TIPs on how to get the best user experience from this forum.

https://www.hornby.com/uk-en/forum/tips-on-using-the-forum/