DCC running/decoder issue

GVS

Hi All,

I;ve just signed up so i'm new to all this so I hope this first posting is in the right place.

A little while ago I bought a Schools Class loco, R2845X, as a non-runner with decoder issues. It's seen better times but it was very cheap!! so I took a gamble.

In case there are some who don't know, the decoder is fitted in the tender and connected to the loco with a small plug. All wheels, tender and loco, appear to have pick-ups.

I removed the tender body to reveal a Hatton's decoder (8 pin) not the original Hornby. I understand that there might be issues with Hatton/Hornby compatibility, so swapped this for a spare (new) Hornby unit I had in my bits box. 

The situation is this: With the loco on my test track, the second I turn on the power, the loco moves forward at what I guess to be about half speed. There is absolutely no response from the controller (Hornby Select). I swapped the decoder back to the Hatton's unit and got the same response. I then replaced the decoder with a blanking plug and went back to analogue control which worked OK if a bit jittery which I put down to the loco needing a good clean and service.  

My thoughts on this are that if it's OK on analogue then the motor and basic wiring must be OK. If it misbehaves on two different decoders then it has to be somthing in that department except it's the same result even using a new decoder which should also be OK. 

I need somebody with a bit more knowledge to throw some light on this problem please. Has anyone else had similar issues with a Schools or other loco??

Thanks for reading and sorry for rambling - I'll try harder next time.

Graeme

You will probably find DC running is enabled in CV29 and what you are seeing is DC runaway due to the DCC signal being misinterpreted by the decoder.

Whether you can do anything about that depends upon the revision state of your Select’s firmware.