Addressing new TTS decoder with new loco (J36)

crosbystills

I am completely new to TTS and have just fitted a TTS decoder to a J36 loco.

I am using Elite. Placed Loco on programming track, as I have with other locos, and programmed loco as No.11. Placed Loco on main track Loco is dead. Other locos ok.

Dismantled loco again to check for damage etc all ok. Repeated the above without success.

Having read through some of the forum comments before posting this I have ordered the ESU tester (I did not know of its existence or I would have already bought one.

In the meantime any clues as what may be the problem (addressing etc) will be most welcome.

It may be just a faulty TTS decoder. The TTS decoders do seem to have an unusually high forum reported fault rate. However, one also has to bear in mind that it is a popular Hornby decoder and lot's are sold, and people only tend to report the faulty ones on the forum. So maybe as a %, the fault rate is normal. But a faulty decoder is still highly 'suspect'.

The ESU tester would have allowed you to check the decoder straight out of the packaging using the factory default address [03] prior to installation in the loco and also allowed the DCC address and any other tweaks to be configured and tested as functional before fitting. Therefore, taking the installation method and the loco itself out of the equation i.e discounted as being the culprit.

Have you checked if the loco works on address 3 as it may just the the new address is not taking.

Can you read-back anything e.g. address direct, CV1, CV7 or CV8. If you can read-back we then know the programming is working and you have a correct setup.

If addressing does not appear to be taking swap the A and B wires over at the Elite PROG terminals, which is the equivalent of turning the loco round physically. Report affect if any.