Power connection [planned DCC layout]

Andrew-818747

First time on forum, so hello and thank you in anticipation.

I am looking to build my first layout in 40 years and am looking to use a dcc system on the layout numbered 13/14 in the Hornby Track plans edition 14.

Can anyone advise where the best place(s) is/are to put the power connections on the track.

Probably obvious to you guys but as a novice, I just want to get it right.

Appreciate any help you can offer.

Andy

Anywhere you like.

In DCC the whole track is live all the time and would not normally be built with any isolated sections.

If Hornby track, then R8232 Hornby Point DCC clips are fitted to all the points to circumvent the self isolating nature of the Hornby point.

I'm not familiar with the 13/14 plan in the edition 14 book, but if it is a complicated plan [for example like the Hornby Large Corner Plan]. Then there may be 'Reverse Loops' designed into the plan. Reverse loops create an instant 'short circuit'. If your proposed plan does indeed include 'reverse loops' then you will need some additional targeted support from the forum to give appropriate advice.

The green box shows one of the clips fitted. The blue box shows where the one being held in the fingers should be placed.

forum_image_603aaaf2e552d.png.58b1383f734fe953a6800c3ac7c49ef9.png

PS - Also make sure that you use Digital DCC Compatible track power connecting products such as R8241 or R8242.

If you use the DC Analogue versions [R8206 or R602] then you can distort and corrupt the Digital DCC signals and may experience operational DCC difficulties.

Track Plan 13/14 features the Hornby Turntable which will need modifying for DCC operation. As the turntable itself is connected to the main layout by two tracks, you also have a potential reverse loop issue to solve as well.