DCC point motors

gazzabj

I am building a layout (Hornby Elite DCC) and wish to add point motors. I understand I need a Hornby Accessory module but I am not sure which point motors would work with this.

The ones I am interested in are Guagemaster Seep solenoid type point

motor as these look compact and it appears you can mount them underneath the board without any additional brackets?

Would these be compatible with the Hornby Accessory module and would I need anything else to wire them up?

I am still a beginner,

so please be as descriptive as you can.

Many thanks
Gary

You don't need an accessory module to operate point motors. You can still use the analogue method with passing contact switches or electric pencils etc.
Stevevcamden, quite a few people have reported problems with the surface mounted point motors. They

need to be installed exactly as in the instructions if they are to work properly.

I've got both types - Hornby surface mount and Mk2 solenoid and yes they all need care in installing to work well. I even have a pair consisting on one of each type firing from a single port of a Hornby acc decoder - these did need care to ensure free

moving points mechanisms.
The OP asked if Seep underfloor solenoid motors could be used with Hornby accessory decoders - the answer is YES, just check the wiring colour codes to ensure correct connection to the acc decoder.
Working points via DCC can

be onerous from the command station (Elite) and as poliss says they can be operated anologue style instead or by using relays operated by analogue and/or DCC.
Rob

I got the impression that the OP thought you had to have an accessory decoder if you were using a DCC controller. A bit of clarification would be helpful.
I wouldn't use accessory decoders unless I was controlling points from a PC.

Many many thanks for all the responses. Excellent advice.