Newly Purchased 1980’s Hornby HST

itydog

I made a post about the use of stay alives for this model and received several replies.The model runs really well (most of the time) but stalls on Hornby points. It has been suggested to me that instead of a stay alive I should look at adding extra pick ups to the power car. If I was to do this I would buy the commercially available pick up kits. I have hard wired a Hornby 8 pin decoder to the model. Can anyone give me advice on how I would wire the additional pick ups to the Ringfield motor. I would probably be getting the Dcc pick ups.I am a real novice at wiring so detail about exactly how the wiring should be done would be very much appreciated.

itydog,

You do NOT wire the additional picks directly to the Ringfield motor, you need to add them to the existing live feeds going to the decoder, ensuring that you keep the polarity matched. If you have already managed to hard wire a decoder then adding the additional feeds should be a doddle!

If you have already fitted an 8 pin DCC socket, then any additional pickups you add are simply wired to the 8 pin socket where the decoder Red (pin 8) & Black (pin 4) wires go. Be sure to get these connections the right way round, else you will get a short circuit. Typically, the Red (pin 8) would go to the right hand side wheel pickups, right hand from a drivers point of view facing forward.

I remember this by R for Red is also R for Right. But this assumes that the 8 pin socket has been correctly wired to this wiring convention. But be sure that the wheels you add the pickups to, are isolated electrically from the chassis.

EDIT: 37L posted whilst I was typing.