Installing DCC Now plus Sound at later stage to Non DCC Class 08

Deem

Hello to Everyone

If some one can advise me.

I have Hornby Class 08

Service Sheet 139A

Doesn't have DCC fitted and considering to install DCC decoder.

This loco runs very smoothly on DC after I have cleaned and done full service, installed new Traction Tyres and Loco run very good both direction.

I have spare X8809DM motor with 6 Pickups (3 on each side) and 4 pin male wire connector which accept Hornby 4 Wire Decoder (R7274).

My understanding is I can change all wheels with Hornby X8871M so I can all wheel pickups from Track.

Also in future I would like to install TTS sound decoder so how would I add that to Hornby R7274?

I am totally new to DCC so I am asking questions now so I understand before I attempt to install or choose a particular way to keep the cost down.

Any Advice will be much appreciated.

Regards

forum_image_61f98c8064654.thumb.png.846d631d496d7c45b69380ac4195e68c.png

forum_image_61f98c86a2b8c.thumb.png.820d3ec645bb934c0d236fb7e11eff5e.png

You may not be able to fit the front wheelset from X8871M because your chassis block is set up to take an axle without bearings and if I remember correctly, all the wheelsets in the new pack have bearings. If that is indeed so, I would be tempted to replace only the centre wheelset if you want to do away with tyres. However, the new wheelset will have metric threads to take the coupling rod screws whereas the existing screws have BA threads, so you will also need the coupling rods pack X8877 to give you metric screws. The additional pick-ups should work just as well on the remaining original wheels.