Sidings not getting power ?

• HI everyone,first time posting here. hope someone can answer a real simple problem im having at the moment.Im still relatively new to model railways so chances are im doing something wrong lol! having dabbled in oo gauge last year then decided to start again from fresh in the new TT120 gauge.my problem is a have a basic oval loop, which i at the top left curve of the loop put a point to create a siding. on switching the the point for the train to go into the sidings the train stops dead at the point of the siding.Im using the hornby controller that come with the scotsman train set. and is powered by power connecting track that came with it.Why is the siding not getting power, should the siding be on the inside not outside of the loop or does that not matter? or do i need to power all sections of my track with power feed connections and bus wire to a different controller. thanks in advance to any responses to this query, im sure this wont be my last time here.   thanks again 

The track power should follow the point direction from the power connection point. If your power connection is after the point then when the point is set to siding it cuts off the power not redirects it.

So when the point is thrown to route into the siding there is power on the oval and the loco runs round ok and onto the point then stops?   Where *exactly* does the loco stop - when the rear wheels are fully on the point blades, or after the rear wheels have gone past the frog?    Can you post a photo of your layout, show us where the power feed is and also a photo of where the loco stops? 
It may be the point blade isn't making good contact with the running rail? 

Edited by ntpntpntp

If it's DCC and you have used an insulating fishplate on the V Frog of the point, then you would need to supply power to the siding.

I say that as you mentioned a bus wire.

25 minutes ago, robert-1311322 said: