rail joins

ChristchurchLinda

Hi ya,

I'm extending my layout using Hornby Flex track. I'm a perfectionist and I'm getting grumpy cause I just can't get a nice clean join. I'm using R910 Fishplates to join the track. My question is, without soldering (i don't have one) how much of

a gap can there be between the rails without affecting the electrics? I get one track to butt up nicely but i'm left with 1 to 1.5mm on the other track.

I am not an expert at this but.... I would say that you want to leave a gap of between 0.5 and 1 mm on both rails where you join to another piece of track.

the track will expand/contract with temperature. A small gap is needed.

I'm puzzled. Are you saying that it is necessary to cut flex rail lengths incorrectly to create room for expansion how does this compare with set track where rail length can be expected to be correct?

To answer the question as asked, good fishplate

electrical contact will be made as soon as rail insertion goes beyond the lead in area of the fishplate. However, fishplate contact can be a potential risk in the longer term and the shorter the insertion distance, the higher the risk. So given we are talking

DCC in the DCC forum, I would suggest using a bus and dropper wires if rail cutting accuracy can't be improved.

Linda, don't forget that the rails in flexitrack can slide along in the sleepers, so you can butt one end up with no problem.

When it comes to curves, simple geometry will tell you that the length of a curve at different diameters varies. So with a

single curve in your flexi, the outside track will be 'correct', while the inside one will be 'too long', and you will have to cut a bit off to make it fit.

Small gaps of a millimeter or two won't matter, they'll just make the wheel noise a little louder.

Set-track

already has the lengths adjusted to suit.