Hornby select controller

Lancey

I just purchased an 08 class Shunter with sound. When I input the new dcc control number the class 08 accepts the input and gives a slight forward movement then nothing, no sound, no movement. I also have a marklin 30050 steam loco converted to dcc and

also has smoke doing the same as above. Is the select controller powerful enough to run these locomotives. Thanks Paul. P.S: I am very new to model railroading and DCC.

Hi

A lot depends on the address number you're trying to enter?

Remember the Select can only allocate address numbers in the range 1 to 59.

Avoid 3 as thats the default number for all decoders.

I assume that once the correct address number

has been set, you have the same number displayed for the loco when attempting to operate its sound options and for movement?

Lancy, the Select is powerful enough to run a sound loco, although you can only control 9 sound functions, not all of them.

We need more info to help you and answers to Flashbang's questions will be a good start.

The address I used for the steam loco was 07 and 04 for the 08 class Shunter. The functions I used for the Shunter are as per instruction sheet supplied with this Shunter. As for the steam loco I tried using the functions that were supplied with it. I

get no sound from either loco and no movement from either. I have reset the select controller as per the instructions on page 19 of the manual. I still have no joy. Thanks for all help given. Can't return to shop as they were both purchased on EBay (Australia)

Hi again

Set the 08 shutter to address number 3 then see if you can move it forward or reverse with the Select showing 03 in its display.

If it moves, then operate function number F1 this should turn on the sounds. F1 pressed again will turn Off

the sounds. So with F1 On try pressing F2 or F3 etc and see what happens.

[reply]Flashbang said:

Hi again