E-Link frustrations

RickyT7808

I am a beginner with DCC operation although not model railways.

I have just purchased E-link and am having great difficulties getting it to work.

I originally connected via a laptop running Windows 8 (64-bit) and every time I closed down

the Railmaster software I had to disconnect the USB cable, power down the E-link, power it up again and reconnect the USB cable before Railmaster recognised the E-link and connected properly and even then it would occasionally fail on handshake. However, I'm

now trying it on an old deskyop running Windows XP and it appears to connect alot better.

However, another difficulty I have is that I am unable to change Loco ID. I follow all the instructions, using a program track, and when I check the CV the ID

still reads as 0003. That is using a Railroad Warship Class 42 and Evening Star (R3097). Also my model of Evening Star constantly runs in the opposite direction to which it is programmed. Changing the settings in Railmaster makes no difference - does that

mean that the DCC connector could have have wired incorrectly during manufacture?

The Railmaster software keeps coming up with an icon on the top right of the 'ALL STOP' block indicating that the DCC controller needs re-setting. I have tried re-setting

and powering down but the icon is still there. Would anyone agree with my thinking that the E-Link unit could be faulty?

Any help that can be given will be greatly appreciated by myself and my 2 sons.

Many thanks

Rickyt

The red 'button' (not icon) at the top right of the reset button on RailMaster doesn't mean the eLink "NEEDS" resetting. This is the reset button you can use when you WANT to reset it.

I believe this is all explained in the PDF manual, which is

installed on your Start menu.