DCC track power question

mrredrunner100

The important things are that the PSU has the same output voltage as the correct power pack, can supply at least one amp at that voltage and has the right connector with the correct DC polarity as per the standard supply.

And if you mean the internal

supply that powers a desktop PC, you will need to know exactly what you are doing to find the correct output that has the right volts, ensure all the other outlets have been properly dealt with so they can't accidentally touch something. In fact, for this

type of supply, if you are asking the question, the chances are you shouldn't be trying it. If you are talking about a laptop supply that has the correct volts and plug, that's another matter and would work.

I just had a look at the spec for a 450W PC PSU. The +12VDC rail, which might perhaps be useful for DCC, was rated at 33 Amps.

A 550W unit could supply 41A.

As an engineer, I would suggest that unless you are very familiar with switch mode

PSUs and appropriate protection it would be prudent to be very cautious about using a supply that can supply that sort of current.

That's not how DCC works Alex. DCC isn't a signal. DCC is variable frequency alternating current. For a much simplified explanation,with some errors (there's no such thing as bi-polar DC. That's just AC). see http://www.awrr.com/dccintro1.html

The

power supply to the controller can be AC or DC depending on the model of controller and that it has a full wave rectifier inside.

Hi

Thanks for the replys, I don't think I will try it sounds quite risky, I thought it might be another way rather than buying the hornby power supply. You said about an external power supply (like a laptop one) and if it had the right connection and

gave out about 4 amps would that work

Thanks

Mrredrunner100

Hi

A replacement power supply for the Hornby DCC consoles must have the following criteria...

1) Its output must be 15 volts dc. Not ac.