E-Link and Points ??

Railway_Ron

I'm still new to this DCC world and I am running my layout through E-Link. At present, I am trying to set up points but appear to be having trouble with decoders. Decoder 1 is a Train Tech PC2, I have 3 point up and working but when I connect the fourth, all I get is a low CLICK sound from all points and nothing moves.  Ok I have left that for the time with only 3 points working.  I have tried to connect a Hornby R2847 decoder running 2 points & 2 signal lights. (trying to get this to work is a nightmare) I had it working some months ago but now can't seem to get this working properly.  I have followed the instruction to the letter. When I program the R8247, it appear to do something as points click (Not change) and signal lights illuminate briefly.  When I ask to read the decoder I get a message saying the thing is not accessible.  When I try the Hornby decoder nothing works - not even the points on the Train tech decoder.  Is this possibly a power issue?

Ref the R8247 (which is the only accessory decoder I have experience of) bets ting to do to check it out and program it is to connect the power lead directly to the program output of the elink, and then use RM to read and write the settings you want.  That's what Hornby support will tell you to do,

What kind of signal lights do you have?  If you have the Hornby bulb type them you can drive those directly from the R8247 using continous output.  If it's an LED based signal then you need some intermediate circuitry as the polarity of the output is wrong for most LED signals and the voltage (12v) may be too high.