Slowing Locos on DCC

trevor_rawson

I think this operation can be achieved with some decoders that have assymetric braking or brake on DC - I'm not an expert, so it's more a question of which decoders can do this, rather than which DCC system.  I think the Hornby Sapphire can but not the basic decoder.

i use resistors to slow my trains down coming into my stations on my analogue system. what dcc system would i buy to achieve the same outcome thank you.

On DCC, the deceleration for each loco, can be adjusted by a simple software change to the loco Decoder.  There is no need to buy anything special.  Likewise, the acceleration rate can be adjusted as well if you wish to represent a more realistic situation.

i use resistors to slow my trains down coming into my stations on my analogue system. what dcc system would i buy to achieve the same outcome thank you.

On DCC, the deceleration for each loco, can be adjusted by a simple software change to the loco Decoder.  There is no need to buy anything special.  Likewise, the acceleration rate can be adjusted as well if you wish to represent a more realistic situation.

• 1 month later...

Well Trevor, learn something new each day.  The new thing is asymmetric DCC or ADCC, which I have just now looked up.

So let me give you the simple answer - ADCC will allow you to achieve what you do with your resistors by putting a simple arrangement of diodes into the track where you currently have your resistors, turn it on or off as you wish, then turn the feature on or off in individual decoders in each loco.  So you can have some locos respond to it and not others by the way you set up their decoders.

Then the question is what DCC systems can do this?  The basic Hornby system of a Select controller and an R8249 decoder certainly won't as neither have the capability.  However, the more advanced Sapphire decoder in combination with either the Elite controller or Railmaster (RM)/eLink certainly will.