Classic track barrier question

Hi all - newbie here!

I'm just resurrecting a couple of 1980's track sets that I've kept boxed and everything is working (R64 Metro, Audi Quattro, etc!).

I seem to be snapping the lugs off the barriers when I fix them, however gentle I am. They obviously clip in under the edge of the track but just the slightest bending breaks the clips.

What am I doing wrong? Is it just because they are old?

Thanks in anticipation!

Stephen

Hi Stephen,

I am a big fan of guardrails and barriers. I am glad Hornby has started adding them to some standard sets.

The short answer is, just like most humans, yes, as they get older they get brittle....

There seems to be a period in the early 80's where plastic is much more brittle. I see that on a lot of other items (toys) as well. Older stuff and later stuff seems to hold up better...

They only things that might help is check the inside lip of the track as the often have some flaring from the manufacturing process.

Running some low grit (80 to 40) sandpaper along then inside of the lip will "break the bead" and also make the plastic a little more forgiving.

If you want to kind to the environment and not throw the barriers out that have lost the lug there are two things I have done in the past:

1. Use hot glue to glue them to the track: Hot glue holds well and can be removed with alcohol. This make of course more sense if the the layout is semi-permanent. Advantages is it goes fast and does not harm the track or the barriers. The glue can come loose though and it can be messy. Also the tip of the glue gun could damage the track if you are not careful.