Elite DCC controller programming decoder R8247 Issues

Gary-377663

I am new to this hobby, need some help.

I have Elite DCC controller I purchased from Jadlam, trying to program points decoder R8247. I have followed the instructions that come with the decoder, steps 1 to 8, also tried the DIRECT mode setup in the Manuel. Each time at the end you confirm at step 8 the LED red light flashes once and then again for a second or 2, the controller clicks. According to the instructions LED showed flash 5 times to confirm acceptance. Only get the LED flash 1 red then again stays on for a couple of seconds the controller makes a clicking noise, not sure if the controller is faulty.

Any idea?

Is your Elite up to date, v1.45 is the latest version and flashes leds different to earlier version. The version is on screen briefly at power up.

The problem is you have conflicting instructions in the R8247 and Elite blurbs, with reference to CV153 to confuse things.

The clicking you hear is a relay in the Elite engaging to send the programming burst and this coincides with the red led. If you have an led type track tester this will also light in concert.

The simplest way to program a Hornby acc decoder is to do it away from the layout, using the Elite instructions.

Connect a solenoid to port 4 and move the slider to mid position, then connect the Elite Prog terminals to the R8247. At the Elite select Menu to invoke programming then Accessory then Direct then Address - Write and then enter the address you need (any number 1-4 if this is the only decoder you have). When programming is complete the solenoid will throw indicating success. Confirm all is OK by connecting the R8247 to the Elite track terminals and selecting Acc and address 4. The solenoid should work.

Repeat for any other R8247s using address range 5-8, 9-12, 13-16, etc.