Track power for locos controlled with HM7000

Bogo

Hello fellow nerds!

I'm just getting into TT and I'm looking for some advice regarding track power. I'm a live steam guy so I'm not too familiar with electrical power options!

I've got the HM7000 fitted version of the Duchess on pre-order. I have no other parts at present. I plan to control her via my mobile phone. I would like to get a few pieces of track and associated power source. However, it's not clear to me what the basic requirements are. My understanding is that any mains power supply unit with a DC output of up to 20 volts can be used when connected directly to the track. I was thinking of the following items:

• TT8029 Digital Power Connecting Track 166mm
  • R7324 HM7020: 15V Power Supply Adapter
  • A mobile phone charger to connect to the PSA?

It's not at all clear to me what the difference is between the DC and DCC power connecting track as they are both copper wire connecting to metal rails - but I guess I need the DCC one. When should you use the power connecting clip TT8027 (or even the digital power connecting clip TT8028) instead of the TT8029?

And yes, I realise that the starter sets are a good way to get up and running however I am not interested in those engines or their rolling stock.

Any help much appreciated.

Hi welcome to the forum 😁 There is a specific section for HM DCC (7000) if you check there at the top of the page is a series of ‘stickies’ that cover all these details and why or why not to use particular bits etc. have a look through there and you will get a good understanding of the system (it’s dead easy) and do ask if you are not sure

Yup, have a read through the HM DCC section 🙂 

One thing I would say is I think the  power connector tracks are huge ugly things, why not simply solder a pair of wires to the underside of a plain section of track and create a hidden connection?