Layout wiring

slowshunter

I'm very new to rail modelling so please bear with me. I have enough track (packs A, B & C to lay 2 ovals, 1 inside the other. Using the DCC Select control I want to run 1 DCC loco and 1 DC loco ( DMU with DCC fitted and an old DC Eurostar. On the lay-out I have a set of points on each straight linking the 2 ovals. Should I use just 1 set of points? Can anybody please help me with how I should set the points so both engines can run at the same time.

Cheers,

Phil

If you are going to run a DCC loco (using a DCC controller) on one oval. And you want to run a DC loco (using a DC controller) on a separate oval. Then the emphasis must be on the word 'separate'. I daresay you will get some replies saying that it is doable provided you take certain precautions and/or add electrical switches to isolate track sections.

But in reality, and to keep the layout 'fool proof' you should NOT have any point cross-over locations between the two ovals. The outputs of the controllers must not come into contact with one another, which they could do if you have points & track joining them. Apart from which, what would be the point of having a track cross-over between the ovals. Although you could run the DCC loco on the DC track, you risk burning out the DC loco motor if you let it cross over onto the DCC track.

Additional comment.

To be honest, it would just be easier to fit a DCC decoder (less than £20) to the DC Eurostar and run the whole layout as a DCC one.

I suspect Chris may have interpreted you incorrectly and that you wish to run both the DCC and DC loco using the Select.  If so, don’t try it, you will almost certainly burn out the motor in the DC loco, even though some instructions say it is possible to do it.  As Chris said last, you need to fit a decoder to the DC loco to make it work successfully.