Fitting TTS decoder to A1 Tornado

Foxee1980

Hi all

I'm new to all this.  Purchased the R1169 Tornado Express DCC ready set for my son at Christmas. 

We have already decided to upgrade to DCC so I have purchased the Elite Controller and have bought a  Hornby TTS decoder for the Tornado which arrived today. 

The instructions that came with the chip are pretty shockingly bad... 

I've removed  the chassis from the shell and basically have no idea what to do next!

Help please!  :) 

Yours looks like the one in service sheet 366.

The factory TTS one is shown in service sheet 406.

Download these from the downloads - service sheets area of the main menu on the main site.

The main difference between the two variants being the decoder socket has been moved to the tender Where they have made space for the round speaker.

Your easiest installation is to grab a replacement 8 ohm sugar cube type speaker and install it in front of the decoder socket. People have put them in the smokebox on the Flying Scotsman.

Rob

Thanks for advice.  Yes 366 seems most like my train.  I have to say that feel a little bit aggrieved that I have spent over £40 on a chip and speaker for my specific loco and I have to modify it just to get it to fit anywhere.

Why don't Hornby make it easier to upgrade them to sound? 

I have the same loco, and have just ordered the same TTS decoder( earlier this morning), and was going to fit it tomorrow afternoon ( due to arrive by 11am), but looks like it will have to wait, till i can order a suitable sugar cube speaker, i have no intention of messing about with the tender, also looks to be the same with my FS model too, so that will also have to wait,

I just installed 2 Zimos complete with plastic boxes (resonance chambers). Both 8 ohm impedance 1 Watt Rating.