Hornby Class 40 DCC

Applecross

I am new to DCC.

I have just acquired a Bachmann Dynamis Ultima Controller which operates correctly with my Hornby DCC trains, except the Class 40 which is unresponsive on the track.

The Class 40 moves using a standard Hornby controller.

Is there a special configuration process required for the Class 40?

Thank-you!

If the 40 is a TTS equipped loco then physically turn it round on the track and see if it responds.

If so the TTS decoder may need reprogramming by Hornby.

There was lots of discussion on RMWeb forum about these controllers.

Rob

Are you sure the 40 has a DCC decoder in it? If it runs with a 'standard controller' (I take that to be an analogue one), I'd suspect the lack of a chip.

Yes! It says so on the box and I have now opened the locamotive to check so both the sound chip and the decoder are in place.

I found a posting by GBRf66701 at rmweb.co.uk reporting the same problem which another member managed to solve, however, I don't understand from what they say what the solution was.

Many thanks for your respnse!

Mark.

If the 40 is a TTS equipped loco then physically turn it round on the track and see if it responds.

If so the TTS decoder may need reprogramming by Hornby.

There was lots of discussion on RMWeb forum about these controllers.

Rob

Yes! It says so on the box and I have now opened the locamotive to check so both the sound chip and the decoder are in place.

Coincidentally, I found a posting by GBRf66701 at rmweb.co.uk reporting the same problem which another member managed to solve, however, I don't understand from what they say what the solution was....but thier conversation implies a method of adressing the locamotive.

Many thanks for your response!

Mark.

Applecross,