DCC Controller - New Power Supply?

RDS

Hi everyone. 

I am new to model trains, and have just boulight a second hand layout that came with a Hornby Digital Select DCC controller (R8213). However the controller didn’t come with any power supply or leads for the track. Does anyone know if I can buy the power lead separately please?  on the back of the controller it says it needs 15v input DC, but doesn’t Mention amps?

thanks

Charlie Boy. 

Welcome

You can use either the Hornby P9100 1-amp or the P9300 4-amp power supply units with your Select. Which one you choose will depend upon your budget and/or how many trains you want to run at the same time.

See here for details of how to connect to your track https://www.hornby.com/wp/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/Guide-to-Getting-Started-with-Track-Extension-Packs-Dec-16.pdf in particular the DCC section. You can either use the Hornby power track/clip or you can solder a suitable gauge wire (twin speaker wire is OK for a simple track layout) direct to the rails.

Hi Charlie Boy and welcome to the Forum

Yes, you can buy the Power Supply separately. 

It comes in 2 power ratings, either 1 Amp which is the one originally supplied with the Select Controller, or a 4 Amp version that is supplied with the Elite Controller.  Both are compatible with your Select Controller and as you could be limited by what you can run with the 1 Amp version, I would suggest that as you have to buy one anyway, going straight to the 4 Amp version.  It is Hornby Part Number P9300.