Adding ballast

keithp1707821843

Hello

I am new to this hobby, but have a small set from the 1990's. I have decided to try and use it to create a small railway - one question do you pur the ballast on first and then attach the track or add the track and then add the ballast.

I thought you dfid it first, but I see some people add it after the track.

Cheers.

Keith

If you ballasted first the track wouldn't have a level surface and none would appear around the sleeper sides!

Ballasting is done ONLY AFTER the track is laid, wired and fully tested with various stock to ensure all is correct.  Then and only then is the loose ballast laid, teased into correct position with the aid of a artist paint brush, surplus removed and a dilute PVA/Water/drop of washing up liquid used to set the ballast. After 24 hours hoover the set ballast to remove any unstuck particles then touch in any areas that didn't bond correctly first time and again wait for all to dry then hoover etc.  At points ensure no ballast is able to get between moving point blades or into any holes drilled in the baseboard for point motors below the baseboard etc.  In fact I go back to the ballasted/glued area about every hour and by hand move each ballasted point over and back a couple of time doing this for about four or so hours. This ensures no glue or ballast is able to set the point solid! 

Great. Thank you. I did watch the video on the web site and they laid the ballast first, so was not sure.

I am very new to this, so I not even trying to hide any wiring, it will be a very simple small set up based on the basic Hornby layout in their book. At the moment I am struggling to find a suitable baseboard. I need something around 4' X 4', but hardboard, Ply & MDF are sold in 2' width. Anyone know where you get a baseboad that is suitable?

Keith