eLink vs Elite

Guest Chrissaf

Hello to you all,

I am a complete novice to Model Railways, that is if you don’t count my little Hornby 0-6-0 tank loco with two wagons and a circle of track which I had when I was 10 years old. I have no idea what happened to it. Now at 76 years old I have perhaps foolishly, decided to build a layout in my loft. It will be basically three loops, with approximately ten motorised turnouts to allow trains to change from one loop to another, and a small fiddle yard to give me something to do other than watch the trains go round! I understand about DCC principles, but my dilemma is, what exactly do I need in the way of control? The e-link seems a good idea – relatively cheap and I love ‘messing around’ on my laptop, so using the e-link with Railmaster would suit me fine. Alternatively, I have considered the ‘Elite’ system. More expensive and no option to ‘program’ train movement.

If I went for the E-link and Railmaster, what else would I need? Another power supply for the turnout motors, decoder unit for the turnout motors? What about the Elite option? What else would I need to buy, if I chose that system? I live in France where Model Railways are not high on the list of hobbies, so no clubs. My nearest Model Railway shop is over 300 km away, so not easy to go and ask. I have searched the internet, and although there is a wealth of technical info available, it seems that my question is too basic for anyone to publish an answer.

Any help anyone could give me would be much appreciated.

Brian P. 

....with approximately ten motorised turnouts to allow trains to change from one loop to another, and a small fiddle yard to give me something to do other than watch the trains go round!

If you go for RailMaster / eLink, then point (turnout) operation becomes a doddle. Your layout is represented on screen as a logical schematic. You click the point icons on screen and the points on the layout change.