Trains run even when controller set to stop.

Bighandz

I am in the middle of building a DCC layout and I've just tried my first locomotive.

I am using a select controller but I'm having a few issues so any help would be appreciated

I am using a select controller but I'm having a few issues so any help would be appreciated

1. My locomotive moves even when the speed controller is set to zero.

2. The direction switches have no effect. It will go one way but not reverse.

does anybody know what I may be doing wrong. I am new to modeling and I am severely visually impaired.

Help please

Gary.

Your post lacks crucial details of information, so what follows may or may not have a bearing on your issue.

First of all, are you really 100% sure that your locos have a DCC decoder fitted. Locos that have 'DCC Ready' printed on the box, do not have a decoder fitted and are in essence DC Analogue locos.

Secondly, what is the firmware revision of your Select? This is very important that we know this. The firmware revision is the very first number to briefly appear on the Select LCD screen when it is powered up. Expect to see a number between 10 and 20.

Thirdly, has your Select got trapped in Address Zero DC support mode?

To ensure that it is not in Address Zero mode (this description applies to earlier firmware revisions prior to 1.5) If your firmware revision shows 15 or 16 or 20 in the second item above, then refer to the Select manual for how to invoke and/or disable Address Zero support.

1. Press the zero button on the Keypad.
  2. Press the 'Select' button, the display will display 00
  3. Rotate the speed knob all the way up, then all the way down. Ensure 100% that the speed knob is now hard against the anti-clockwise end stop.
  4. Now key in the DCC Address of the loco with the issue on the keypad.
  5. Press the 'Select' button, the display should show the DCC Address you have typed in.
  6. Does the loco now operate normally.

• 4 weeks later...