Hornby decoder track voltage

2foot6

I have been using Hornby TTS decoders for about two years ,my DCC systems has a track voltage of 20 volts that Hornby decoders are able to handle.I have been looking at buying more decoders and I have noticed a number of dealers in the U.K are advertising the TTS decoders with a track voltage of 15 volts.Is this a mistake or has the voltage been changed?....Peter.

I stand to be corrected, but the Hornby Elite/Select put out 14/15v to the track - so I suppose any Hornby product (TTS) would say 15v.  I have not heard any comments about a wide variation in voltages when using different systems to operate a DCC layout.

Which controller are you using that gives an output of 20 volts? 

The standard DCC voltage for track is around 15 volts (measured on the AC scale).

The voltage has not changed.  All decoders operate at the same level.

What DCC System are you using?

Because DCC track power is a Bi-polar square wave and not sinusoidal, Then the accuracy of many multimeters cannot be relied upon to be accurate. The actual DCC track voltage is 28.8 volts 'peak to peak' using Hornby controllers, but usually measures somewhere between 12 volts and 15 volts AC with most meters.

Nearly all multimeters are calibrated to read accurately on Sinusoidal waveforms. In order to measure DCC track voltage accurately, you need a special kind of meter. One such meter is called a 'RAMPmeter'. A more expensive multimeter that has a calibrated option to read 'TrueRMS' can also read fairly accurate results.

/media/tinymce_upload/9e029e426d78d41f5cf3599b9b0c2a27.jpg

The Sinewave (sinusoidal) waveform in the image above is a single pure frequency, thus your average multimeter can be made cheaply to measure this very specific waveform very accurately.

Below is an extract from an unpublished document I wrote some time ago about measuring DCC track voltage.

/media/tinymce_upload/3be9c621ef7762ae8117b9dff34e4b04.jpg