Loosing power

Mushyhead

Hi I have a hot pursuit x2 scalextric. When I run one car it runs fine I then run two cars it's fine for about 5 minutes then the cars start to lose power then just stop all together and the red indicator goes off. Any ideas? It has two slots for two transformers do I need two to run two cars at same time ? I'm new to the scalextric world so please be gentle

The hot pursuit X 2 sport set was marketed in first decade of this century.

It follows a hot pursuit classic set in the 90s

The X2 contains the best scaly analog powerbase which can use 2 powerpacks.

It also contains the great battery powered lapcounter.

Had to search net for awhile to find it and get some info.

Yes oil and lube it, after first opening up the car and cleaning out any dust and debris.

Have bought supposedly bad cars that have hair wrapped around gears and axles and only needed a cleaning to run great again.

Any used set will have cars that may have way more than enough magnets or even lead added, drawing more power.

Braids need need to be clean too and possibly guide replaced.

The track itself ,  top and bottom, needs to be cleaned and if track is on floor, it will also pick up dirt.

Once all this is done , then a simple test oval created with powerbase on one side and balancing straight on opposite side and couple 180s of standard curves.

Run this for awhile and see if problem returns.

If ok, then add more track.

If cars fail again, problem could be those old motors are shot or powerpack is going too.

Only way to know is to test other cars on track.

And yes this powerbase works alot better when more matching power is added.

The cars are stopped, so did you ever get them running again and how ?