Tornado/Mallard unlabelled parts.

ColinB

I recently acquired a Tornado chassis, there were a couple of parts missing from it. The weight that doubles up as the DCC pcb holder and the motor base that also doubles up as the gearbox top. Go to the service sheet and surprisingly these parts are not labelled. So anyway I mail a couple of parts suppliers to ask if they ever get these bits second hand, obviously without a part number they are not going to get them new. The first one gives me me a rude reply saying that without a part number can do even though I mentioned that they didn't have a part number on the service sheet. That Supplier also has a lot of Railroad parts from broken models, so they must know the parts. The second one says virtually the same although a bit more politely. Now I am new to the latest range of Hornby locos, being more familiar with building classic Triumph motorcycles, but I can recognise the major parts without a part number. I have even noticed which parts can be interchanged between models.

Now I don't sell Hornby parts and I also don't advertise that I am expert at them (as one of them does) so how come they know so little. I will add on the previous two occasions when I have asked a technical question to one of them they didn't know either. Funny in the Classic Bike world, if you sell parts you generally know a lot about them.

In the end I bought a chassis off EBay that has the parts, a bit more expensive but I can probably sell on the parts left over.

In a case like that Colin I drag out the service sheet for a similar loco of the class, as often the earlier service sheets do ID the parts or include them as NHA (next higher assy). Quite often you can trace parts back to the original locos produced and for which you can get parts that might fit or can be modified to fit.