Class 37 Sound Fitted Startup ( Bachmann ) Help Required

maw78

I've just purchased a Bachmann class 37 factory sound fitted loco and am a bit confused by the startup sequence and am not sure if it's a fault or I'm doing something wrong ......

The instructions list 3 possible start ups which are F1 on-off ( failed start up sequence ), F1 on-off-on ( long start sequence ) and F1 on which is the quickest start up sequence.

If I stop the loco to reverse or pull into a station the engine sounds like its idling down but then if I add power again the dcc sounds are like a revving engine with no movement. I'm using a hornby select controller and the whole F1 on-off options have confused me.

I bought it from derails models who I've never used before but I know they test all locos before shipping which makes me think I'm doing something wrong !!

The 3 start-up options are perfectly reasonable, you choose which one you prefer at the time.

As for the sound of the diesel engine revving up; this is to try and emulate the real thing. These locomotives are driven by Electric traction motors so the diesel engine is often heard revving up to drive the generators up to the required current output. So the speed of the diesel engine does not match the speed of the loco.

I doubt there is any fault with yours.

Nearly all sound equipped model locomotives have some form of moving off delay (particulary diesels and diesel electrics) this is perfectly normal. Many non TTS sound decoders have an optional CV that can be adjusted to turn off this sound feature to force the loco to move straight away.

All of my sound locos exhibit a moving off delay (mixture of Hornby XS and Bachmann, so all Loksound decoders).

I have a class 121 with sound. This decoder is a special by MarksTrains. Pressing F1 is the engine start. If you press it again with 2 secs it gives a failed start.

When you increase the throttle the engine revs and then the 121 moves off.