Absolute newbie to DCC [Select 1Amp vs 4Amp PSU]

Darrenbec

Hi, probably a question already asked, but I cannot find any straight up answers.

So here goes, planning a set up approximately 10ft by 6ft board. Will have up to 10 locos on, with accompanying coaches or wagons. Planning to run about 4 or 5 of the locos at the same time, simultaneously. So will the Select R8213 be suitable for this size layout with the 1 amp power supply it comes with, or with the 4 amp version. Not looking to run points, lights, sound or anything else, just purely loco running and controlling. All i want from the Select is to control loco direction, speed, stopping, and also to program initial loco addresses. Thanks in advance for any comments or replies.

The 1 amp supply is only good for running about 3 or 4 locos concurrently.

To run up to 10 concurrently, you will need the P9300 4 amp upgrade power supply.

As this is your first post, please use the text box at the bottom of the page to reply. Not the blue button.

Hi Darren, might I add some advice on thread titles that may help you get better advice in the future and allow better searching for that advice in the future too.

Good topics often have 3 parts to them:

• some background. Your background is that you are new
  • the problem or question itself. Your question is how many locos can be run with the Select 1 Amp supply
  • some qualifying detail that may affect the correct answer. Yours is that you only want to control locos

So what is a good thread title? It is one that directly addresses the problem or question. In this instance, that would be “How many locos can be run by Select with 1 Amp Supply?”