e-Link Vs Elite

Cost issues aside, what is the advantage of e-link over Elite. (apart from the ability to use phones, android ...... ) ?

Presumably you still need accessory / point decoders for both. My current thinking is:- Grandson & I currently work as a team, one

driving trains (Select Controller) one switching points (Passing Contact Switches). This is fine but realistically only one thing can happen at a time. I would like to have, say, the main line trains doing their own thing, (stopping at stations, switching

loops .... ) via predetermined programmes, while we shunt stuff around in the sidings etc. I've downloaded the trial version of RailMaster, and from what I see there would be a lot of fiddling around trying to time everything to perfection? I noticed they

mention 'Loco Detection', which I would have thought would be a better way of controlling events, but can find no information as to what these detectors are and how they work etc. Your views welcome please. My other concern is learning how to do everything.

As an old bloke I find it easier these days to watch and copy rather than read and try.

@HooliganHedgehog

I cannot think of any advantages of e-link over Elite, apart from maybe reliability due to less moving parts on e-link. I use Elite with RailMaster and I like the fact that even though RailMaster may be controlling most aspects, I

can still override it by selecting a loco manually via the Elite. With e-link, everything is done via RailMaster.

The detection system has not yet been released (due later in 2013) so it is only speculation really yet as to how it will work. (See my previous

posting under RailMaster about the Lecture at Alexandra Palace for some details that I received from Hornby)

I do not actually have any decoders on my points at the present time but I have found that there is quite a lot of consistency with loco positions