New to Hornby

scott_atkinson

Hello

Im new to Hornby iv always wanted to have my own set but never had the room or the money.  That now has changed :)

That said I do not have lots of money, so i was wondering that if i start on a none DCC set uphow easy is it to convert to a DCC set up.  I feel the web site is very lacking in this information, so i was hopeing someone can answer me some questions.

1. Can you use the same tracks for both the DCC and None DCC setup

2. How do i convert from none DCC to DCC

3. Will both none DCC and DCC work together

4. What would everyone advice on the subject should i spend more and get less and start with DCC or spend less and get more with None DCC

Thanks in advanced for all who reply.

Hi Scott, welcome to the forums and the hobby. Not surprisingly, there are a range of opinions on this one. Some still say start DC and upgrade to DCC later. Some longtime DC users who don't intend to upgrade due to cost will still suggest new starters should go DCC being the way of the future. Pretty much all DCC users will tell you to start DCC. I'm one of those. 

So first to answer your questions, then some initial things to think about. 

DC and DCC use the same track. But you certainly can't have a DCC controller and a DCC controller connected to it at the same time. 

To convert, you remove the DC controller and connect a DCC controller. You must use a DCC power clip or power track to do that, they are different to the DCC ones. And you need to install DCC point clips to each of your points so the DCC power goes to your entire layout all of the time. So not a major change In terms of an established layout.