Ease of downloading model pictures

Grogman40

• 9 months later...

Hi. I’m having trouble uploading photos of my latest build but keep getting the message “the file type you are attempting to upload is not allowed “ I’m using my iPhone when trying, do l need to log on and try using a pc ? Any help would be appreciated as I’m not very tech savvy.

cheers, Stuart.

Hi. I’m having trouble uploading photos of my latest build but keep getting the message “the file type you are attempting to upload is not allowed “ I’m using my iPhone when trying, do l need to log on and try using a pc ? Any help would be appreciated as I’m not very tech savvy.

cheers, Stuart.

Look mate, they're only golden, not crystal. The file type is the last few characters of the full file name, such as "my_pic.jpg" would be a jpeg, "my_pic.tif" would be a tiff...

The likely meaning of the error message is that Airfix do not accept the format(s) that iPhones generate.

I always find it far easier to transfer pictures to my laptop first before uploading them. I've tried to upload pictures from my phone a couple of times without success. I think it's usually a good idea to backup your pictures anyway. There's always a chance the phone will be lost or just start playing up, both of which has happened to me, with a consequent loss of files. It always seems to happen when you least expect it!

Grogman40, Use the /media/tinymce_upload/f53b40735df8b306f21c93bbc8c3edeb.gif icon above the 'Reply' text box to import pictures to the forum.

The iPhone default image format is not compatible with the forum software. You can change the iPhone format:

1. Open the “Settings” app on the iPhone and go to “Camera”
  2. Choose “Formats” and select “Most Compatible” to shoot photos in JPEG format on iPhone camera.
  3. Exit out of Settings.

Alternatively download the images to a PC/laptop and use imaging software to 'save as' a compatible format before posting on the forum.