HM DCC

taunmarc88

I’ve just seen the HM DCC announcement and it mentions Bluetooth and new chips. I’ve not decided on how to go yet in terms of DC or DCC on my new layout but I’d love to know how people feel about it to help decide if this newer version would be a good idea.

I do feel a bit like it could be a bit Hornby centric but all my TT:120 locos are likely to be Hornby anyway, certainly for a time. I do have an old Hornby DCC controller knocking about so I would still have that to fall back on.

Lots to think about!

It looks like it might be a very interesting system and very cost effective for new modellers or a new layout.

I am a veteran DCC user and have had several different systems over the years. For a time I used the Z21 system which although much more expensive and needing a base station and wi-fi, has a similar smart device interface to the HM7000.

I found ultimately I didn't like the system for ergonomic reasons. Although I am very tech savvy, when operating trains I still like knobs and switches for control. There is something about the tactile nature of interacting with physical controls that I prefer even though I am completely committed to software control underlying it all and would never use a DC system.

I can completely see the appeal to the generation that have grown up using smart devices. I am just a victim of my era joy

The main benefit of the App system is you only need the new decoders and a powered track, which can be either DCC or DC providing the latter is turned up at the controller or you can power the track directly from a PSU using the adapter harness.

If you already have DCC locos and a DCC controller with an Xpressnet port then you can control your legacy locos from the App by using the HM7040 dongle.