E-link voltage problem

Roland-367323

Hi guys. I am a total beginner with model railroads, and even more with dcc. I have just recently learnt about the HM7000 decoders, and I bought one for my Lima ICE 1 loco. But, as I am just at my beginner phase, i don’t have a layout yet, just a basic starter set track. Because of that I bought the E-link, to be able to have DCC (Railmaster) program, signal etc. (i know that the whole situation is a mess 😅).

anyway, after installing the decoder, setting up just a straight short track to try out the chip and do some programming, the system does not want to work. The loco was able to turn on the light, on the HM DCC 7000 app, but when I accelerated, it just jerked and did not move. I could not figure it out what the problem can be. So after readon about a bit, i bought a voltage multimeter. And shockingly i read just 0.10-0.12v from the tracks… i am confused. I used the cable received with the E-link. The connector seems a bit dodgy tho (track, Hornby R-8241).

when i read the voltage on my analogue starter set, at the max speed it was reading 14.92v, which supposed to be.

can someone please help me with this? 🙈

i would appreciate it :)

Thank you

Hi Roland and welcome to the Forum

If you are measuring the voltage across the track on the DC scale (assuming you are using the Power Supply that came with eLink), that is the type of reading you will get because DCC produces a 'type of' AC voltage. You should get about 18v if you use the AC scale.

You don't mention that you have loaded the RailMaster software on a Windows PC.

There can only be two reasons for getting a voltage reading of about 0.1v. Either the eLink and/or power supply is faulty and/or not communicating with the RailMaster software OR you have set your meter on the DC Voltage range.

DCC track voltage is a form of AC called Bi-polar. The webpage Hyperlink below shows an image of what a typical DCC Bi-polar waveform looks like.

This is a sample DCC waveform.