My TT:120 Layout

Dodge1965

So i decided to do a post with info and updates on my first ever layout.

I joined the Forum last January after watching Simon K on TV and was hooked by him and TT:120. So after watching the Hornby program, I went online and joined the TT:120 club and did a pre order for the Scotsman set.

As they say the rest is history. I had a Hornby set as a child, when I was around 6yrs old, but was more interested in Shooting, Fishing and Motorbikes.

So now skip to 58yrs and it all starts. I now have ordered the set, I tell the wife and we plan on where its going (she was very helpfull and supportive and is promoted to the ART department, both of us have no idea what we are doing and how to do it.

But I was a joiner and builder for a number of years, so the work on converting and sorting the loft is the easy part, working with models and items, with these size fingers is not.

We clear the junk and insulate the loft and electrics and network cables are run, then comes the layout end, this is in the extension part of the loft, the middle end wall dividing the two lofts, was removed a few years ago.

Started on boarding and creating the base for the layout, I wanted it to take my weight (17.6st) as I knew I would be getting on it at times.

I wanted to always use HMDCC as much as possible, I use a Hornby Elite for DCC power, in future will add the dongle and use more of the feature of the Elite.

So I also started to add a few vids to Youtube and last week, adding one with me talking.

Then I thought I would do another video, using all the still pictures I had on the Iphone, this again is work in progress, as I’ve never done any video editing.

I will add to this post and keep you all updated.

I must add, I am the worlds most impatient man and I have obsessive compulsive disorder, so this is the main reason I went with TT120, as if an other gauge, I would have walked into a model shop and bought the lot, that is how my head works.