Railroad class 31 DCC sound

Nictor

• 2 weeks later...

I've just received my class 31 and I'm very pleased with it. Nicely detailed, runs smoothly (even on motor algorithm 0!) and the sound is very good. Just need to fit lighting now, although it looks from outside as though the speaker is very close to one end and may make fitting lights there difficult.

Regards, John

A minor problem is that the buffers project further than usual beyond the NEM coupler sockets (about 3mm more than my Class 47), and I'm getting buffer locking when reversing on curves using my normal Kadee long (#19) couplers. The extra long (#20) are less than 1mm longer and I'm not sure that they will solve the problem. I suppose that I could glue the couplers part-way into the NEM socket?

Regards, John

I am very new to all this, hence my first post in response to the comments re R3592TTS, bought last week.

I found the sound to be excellent but have experienced lots of problems with the non-driving bogie shorting power when crossing points.

There is too much play on all 3 axles and I badly need to increase the width between wheels. Can anyone who has dealt with this issue comment on how to proceed please!!

I am also intrigued by the earlier post re Kadee couplings on this Class 31 Railroad model as I am currently trying to assess whether to fit Kadee on all my current and future purchases. Could the poster kindly add their views please.

Regards to you all, Roger

I am very new to all this, hence my first post in response to the comments re R3592TTS, bought last week.

I found the sound to be excellent but have experienced lots of problems with the non-driving bogie shorting power when crossing points.

There is too much play on all 3 axles and I badly need to increase the width between wheels. Can anyone who has dealt with this issue comment on how to proceed please!!