DCC programming

Hi, I've just bought a DCC- fitted Virgin Pendolino second hand on eBay. I placed it on my track and it moves off no matter what code is selected. I know now from the previous owner that he had givien it the code number 08. Do I have to reprogamme it and how do I do this? It also has lights in the power car and dummy car. The previous owner has told me that I need to use a programming track. Can anybody give me advice on sorting things? Please use "Idiots Guide" language. I am very new to model railways.

Cheers

What controller are you using?  I would assume elink and Railmaster as you have posted in the Railmaster section of the forum.

I suggest resetting the decoder by writing a value of 8 to CV 8.  This will (should) reset the address to 3 and hopefully set things right.  However, if you only have the Select controller you won't be able to do a reset to the decoder.

Another possibility is to reset the controller,  It might help.  For this, see the owners manual.

Your other posts indicate that you have a Hornby Select. The Hornby Select does not have a separate programming track output. In order to program a loco with a Select you need a short length of spare track (longer than the loco). You then disconnect the Select from the main layout and connect the track output of the Select to the short track length instead. This is now called your 'programming track'. You place the loco on the programming track, then follow the guidance in the Select manual regarding 'Changing your Loco DCC Address'. You can either re-write the DCC Address 08 to it, or a new address of your choice between 01 to 02  and 04 to 59 - these are the only addresses supported by the Select controller for locos. I have left out 03 from the stated range, as 03 is the default address for a brand new decoder and should ideally be avoided. The address you finally choose should be unique and not one used by any other DCC locos you might own.