E link not powering track

I started a DCC layout 2 months ago and it has been working fine, until today.  There seems to be no power to the track.  I have checked all of the settings and they are as defined in the manual.  I have also changed the ini file to read "1" in the Alternative comms and Check controller fields.  I have started and re-started both Railmaster and my computer.  A couple of times it told me that the USB needed to be unplugged and plugged back in.  However the system seems to come up normally now until I try and run a locomotive.  I have tried taking the wires from the elink to the tracks in and out.  When I do that I get the message "DCC CONTROLLER ERROR - PLEASE CLEAR THE SHORT CIRCUIT"  I have checked the complete layout and can find nothing that would cause a short circuit.  I did put 2 new, manual, points in today and re-arranged the layout but don't see how that would cause the problem.

Replies need to be fairly simple as I am a total beginner in model railways.

Not wise to start changing unrelated settings that were working fine until you fiddled with something else. Look at the something else to see why it caused the fault as it obviously did or it at least had a causal effect, e.g. you disturbed something else when you fitted the new something, maybe a powerclip got nudged loose when you fitted the point.

Another analogy for not fiddling with the ini file would be - you wouldn't change the gearbox in your car because the engine was misfiring would you.

If necessary go back to the last working scenario then change things one by one checking it still works as you go. when it stops again you know where the problem is.

Also do not overlook the obvious such as the power supply has failed - is the eLink green light on.

I have tried taking the wires from the eLink to the tracks in and out.  When I do that I get the message "DCC CONTROLLER ERROR - PLEASE CLEAR THE SHORT CIRCUIT".