Track Laying Pins or Screws

DallasOZ

Hi, I'm new to the hobby and guess this question has been asked before but I couldnt find the answer. I have bought Hornby Mixed Trafficc DCC set plus addtional track.

My question is should I pin or screw the track. It will be semi permanet but I will need to remove the track in about 12 months from the plywood baseboard which is 10mm.

I have Hornby pins but thought screws may be a better option. If so what size is best.

Many thanks for your indulegence.

Dallas

Hi DallasOz, welcome to the forum.

I bought a pack of 100 screws (and the mini screwdriver) from a chap online. He supplies these specificaly for Hornby track.

They work great and can be backed out (obviously) when you need to dismantle.

Here you go;

http://www.alansrobinson.co.uk/model%20railway%20track%20pins%20and%20track%20screws.html

Kev.

Dallas, I have removed your two malformed reply attempts using the blue button where you never added any new text. Note... there is no 'Reply to this post' button embeded within each individual reply on this forum.

TIP: As a newbie poster on the forum, just be aware that the 'Blue Button with the White Arrow' is not a 'Reply to this post' button. If you want to reply to any of the posts, scroll down and write your reply in the reply text box at the bottom of the page and click the Green 'Reply' button.

See also – further TIPs on how to get the best user experience from this forum.

https://www.hornby.com/uk-en/forum/tips-on-using-the-forum/

Hi DallasOz

On the basis that time flies and 12 months will soon disappear, I think it is worth considering if you actually need to fasten it down.  I personally went for a bout 5 years before I fastened mine down, mainly because I could not decide on the best layout and not fastened down made it easier to move.

When I did decide to fasten it down I used the track pins (into Sundeala board in my case)