Beginner (What do I need to start with DCC)

David -1230460

Hello,

I am really new to this hobby so please bare with me.

After being interested for a while I took the plunge and bought a DC Highland set from my local model store.

On further reflection I think this was a mistake.

I want to start with dcc setup and run more than one train.

I intend to build the Hornby setup with the extra packs etc.

Can someone tell me what I need? Am I right in thinking all I need is the digital controller and two dcc locomotives. Will all the packs have everything I need.

Please ignore anything that sounds basic. I really am a beginner.

Thank you,

David.

@David

Moderator Note:

Could you please select the 'View my Community’ in your Dashboard on the Forum and choose a nickname in the ‘My profile' tab, rather than your First name that has been automatically allocated by the system. Hopefully a Forum change is coming soon to prevent this automatic allocation but a manual change is required at the moment and there will be more than one member with your name.

You need a DCC controller. Your choice but be aware some basic controllers are limited in capability. What is important is will it do the job for you and feel comfortable in use.

You need locos equipped with decoders. These can come either factory fitted described as a DCC-Fitted or DCC-Onboard or DCC-Sound loco or you can retro-fit the decoder of your choice - sound or non sound to a suitable loco. Such a loco will be described as DCC-Ready (i.e. has a suitable socket to plug your decoder into) or DCC-Compatible (i.e. can be converted using modelling skills to accept a decoder.

Do not try to run your analogue locos on a DCC track until they have had a decoder installed else you risk burning the motor out.

You also need a DCC track power connector.